Is “un-friending” passive aggressive?

The world of Facebook can be an amazing social place as well as a great business tool, but can also be a frustrating place.  It is amusing to me how people “friend” and “un-friend” each other.  I personally started using Facebook a few years ago for personal reasons, like most people…finding old high school friends, people I had lost contact with, and current friends and family.  Over the last year, I have began using Facebook more as a networking tool than anything.  My personal page and my business page are what I manage the most and I find myself being amused at how many others “manage” themselves on Facebook.  Now I am not perfect by any means and have made my share of inappropriate remarks and TMI.

Recently I stepped on the toes of a couple of people in the business community, which I quickly apologized for when I realized what I did and how it looked.  Within the hour, that person “un-friended” me, had some of their friends “un-friend” me and was “un-liked” off 3 business pages.  Let me rephrase that…5 people don’t want to be my “friend” and they don’t want me on their business page.  And for what?  I didn’t run over anyone’s dog, I made a bad decision by showing up at an event that apparently I was not welcomed at because I am competition to their business.  How old are we anyway?  I have another friend who is no longer my “friend” who also “un-friended” me and took me off her business pages.  I guess in all these circumstances I can somewhat understand the “un-friending” but why take me off their business pages?  It lowers their numbers and unless I was trashing their page (which I was not) why would you want to lower your numbers?

You are probably thinking by now “WOW, she is really ticking off alot of people lately”, but remember the Facebook movie The Social Network…”You don’t make 500 million friends without making a few enemies”, so I’m not too worried about it.  I find it all very comical actually, because all of the people I am referring to claim to be experts in the Social Media world in this small town, yet they are all having knee-jerk reactions.  In business, you don’t allow knee-jerk reactions, you think it through, check the facts and then make decisions.  I think “un-friending” is a passive/aggressive gesture which again, has no business in business.  I always live by the rule “Keep your friends close, keep your enemies closer”.

One thought on “Is “un-friending” passive aggressive?

  1. I agree 100%!! This is a growing area and there is plenty of room for all businesses. If someone has a problem with another business person they should in fact speak to them face-to-face, clear up any misunderstandings and move on. Its business its not personal, but some people don’t know how to separate the two. Gracious and smart are those that can separate business from personal. I do believe that un-friending is childish and passive/aggressive. Its a free world, do what you want but decided how you want to look in the eyes of the business world.

Leave a Reply

