Keeping your options open…

I find people very fascinating sometimes, and sometimes they just shock the hell out of me.  If someone has an issue with me personally I want to know what it is so that I can try and remedy the situation, otherwise, don’t complain about it.  Makes sense right?  However, there are some people in this world that won’t listen anyways so why bother telling them what is wrong.  Those type of people I just distance myself from over a period of time.  Hopefully they will realize something is wrong and ask about it, but if they don’t ask, then they probably don’t mind the distance and all is good anyways.  Sometimes being a good friend is hard.  Sometimes you can only be there for someone so much until it just sucks you dry.

Have you ever known someone who just keeps making the same stupid mistakes over and over and over again no matter how much advise you give them?  What did you do about it?  What can you do about it?  I guess you can either A) accept it and stay friends and listen to them constantly complain about their mistakes they keep making or B) you can distance yourself from that person and move on with your life.  But it’s hard to watch a friend spiral downward and go in a direction that you know is destructive behavior and what’s worst…self inflicted destructive behavior.  Knowing full well what they are doing, pretending that the past never happened and getting angry with you for questioning their sanity.

Well, I’m going with option B.  At least I have options.

One thought on “Keeping your options open…

  1. I get it and say I would go with your option B. I have had friends in the past that took the life right out of me and kept taking because of my concern. Give and take is a must in any relationship. When it’s all take and no give then it’s time for option B!

Leave a Reply

